ASEmerson.com – Tech Connoisseur

Craigslist Spammers

Posted in Uncategorized by Anthony (Tony) Emerson on July 3, 2009

Even with Craigslist’s strong flagging and removal function, spam posts make using the site a pain from a buyer’s perspective.

A few weeks ago, I had a friend move from Austin. I bought all his furniture both as a final gesture of goodwill and as a way to make a little extra money.

This last week, I put his futon on Craigslist and the first 5 emails were definitely automated spam:

Craigslist spammers

Craigslist spam

While the first guy was in Malta, the second one was just busy and deaf:

Craigslist spammers

Craigslist spammers spamming me

I have some questions for more experienced Craigstlisters: Why do they want that information? What can someone do with the combination of my phone, address, and full name? This doesn’t seem like the “I’ll send you a fake money order, you wire me the remainder” scam, so what happens if I respond to this email?

Leave a Reply

