ASEmerson.com – Tech Connoisseur

iPhone Stuck in Bluetooth Mode

Posted in Gadgets, Technology by Anthony (Tony) Emerson on July 14, 2009

My iPhone (3G) is afflicted with a rare disease. No troubleshooting site or forum has been able to help the problem thus far. I’m getting no audio during calls, meaning I can’t hear the person on the other end and he or she can’t hear me.

The strangest part is that I’ve never owned a Bluetooth headset nor had Bluetooth turned on in the Settings. As you can see in the screen shot, the Bluetooth logo is nowhere to be found (it’s usually on the top right, by the alarm indicator) but the call audio pop up (when you press the volume control during a call) shows that audio is being sent to a Bluetooth device:

My iPhone stuck in Bluetooth mode

My iPhone stuck in Bluetooth mode

A little bit of background:

  • I’ve restored the phone back to factory settings (completely fresh).
  • I’ve done all the reset options under Settings > General > Reset, as well as numerous soft and hard reboots.
  • I’ve tried it with a different SIM card, but the problem persists.
  • The phone is acting strange, freezing occasionally and shutting off before battery runs out.
  • This has happened to me before. I took the phone to the Apple store at Barton Creek Mall, and the Genius who was helping me ended up giving me a new phone.

Any help? Any Apple guys out there with Google Alerts on?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ccluskin said, on July 14, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    have you tried just getting a bluetooth headset.

  2. Anthony (Tony) Emerson said, on July 15, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Yeah. The headset didn’t get any audio either.

    This morning I restored back to factory settings and made sure that no backup data got put on at all. It seems to be working fine now.

  3. Anthony (Tony) Emerson said, on July 15, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Scratch that, even with no backup data it is still broken. Apple Store, here I come.

  4. _ Kais _ said, on July 24, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I been experiencing the same problem, I managed to get it to work (at least for right now).

    Go to Settings > General > Reset > And reset network settings.

    The bluetooth went off, and now I can hear when I make a call.
    I have another problem, recently my phone been freezing up a lot ! I don’t know if this problem is related to the bluetooth issue or something else!

    • Anthony (Tony) Emerson said, on July 27, 2009 at 10:58 am

      Kais –

      That fix worked for me, but only temporarily. My iPhone would work fine for 15 minutes – 1 hour, freeze, then turn off. When I turned it back on, it would be again stuck in Bluetooth mode.

      On the upside, I took the iPhone in about a week ago and they gave me a new one with no questions asked. I definitely recommend going to the Genius Bar if your iPhone is still under warranty. I’ll be writing a blog post about the Genius Bar and how helpful they can be (and sometimes how unhelpful they can be) in the near future, as this was probably my 20th trip to the local Apple Store for tech problems.


Leave a Reply

